MPhil/PhD Degrees completed

Name of research student and position
Degree registered for and the Institute
Title of the thesis
Names of supervisors
Sumadee De Silva PhD-IBMBB
Completed in 2013
Characterization of mutations and sequence variants in breast cancer susceptibility BRCA 2 gene in a selected group of Sri Lankan breast cancer patients K H Tennekoon
E H Karunanayake
P K D Peiris MPhil-IBMBB
Completed in 2012
Differentiation of Sri Lankan mustard (Brassica juncea) varieties using AFLP markers and altering their fatty acid profile by interspecific hybridization with Brassica napus (canola) OVDSJ Weerasena
S R Weerakoon (OU)
Y N Silva
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayawardenapura)
Completed in 2012
The increased response by the eutopic endometrium to estrogenic stimulus by heavy metals in patients with active endometriosis KH Tennekoon
H Senanayake (UCFM)
R John-Peiris (USJP)
R Wickramasinghe (UoK
G Raajkumar
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Science, University of Jaffna)
Completed in 2012
Genetic differentiation of Sri lankan rice varieties and identification of genes responsible for biotic and abiotic resistance in wild and weedy rice of Sri Lanka OVDSJ Weerasena
KKS Fernando (UoP)
P Jayanthiny
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Health Sciences, Eastern University)
Completed in 2011
Study of the insulin-like growth factor (IGF)-I and II genotypes in Sri Lanka and their association with birth weight K H Tennekoon
E H Karunanayake
K M Mewan
Research Officer, TRI
PhD, Faculty of Science, UoC
Completed in 2012
Genetic diversity of tea accession in Sri Lanka assessed by RAPD markers E H Karunanayake
S Thrimanne (UoC)
JMDT Everad (CRI)
BP Galhena
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya)
Completed in 2012
An investigation of the anti-carcinogenic mechanisms of a herbal remedy and its ability to protect against radiation induced tissue injury MI Thabrew
KH Tennekoon
DAS Siriwardhana
Research Officer, ITI
Completed in 2011
Biological control of agricultural pests by Bacillus thuringiensis R Samarasekara (ITI)
V Karunaratne (UoP)
OVDSJ Weerasena
HACK Ariyaratna MPhil, IBMBB
Completed in 2008
Molecular based diagnosis of phytoplasma in Sri Lanka with special reference to phytoplasma in sugar cane JMTD Everad (CRI)
E H Karunanayake
J W N de Silva PhD, IBMBB
completed in 2009
Characterization of germ line mutations in BRCA 1 in a selected group of Sri Lanka breast cancer patients E H Karunanayake
K H Tennekoon
T Eswaramohan
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Science, University of Jaffna)
PhD, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo
Completed in 2008
Leptin and endometrial cell function KH Tennekoon
E H Karunanayake
A Murugananthan
(Probationary Lecturer,
Faculty of Medicine, University of Jaffna)
Completed in 2010
Cloning and characterizing of Setaria digitata myosin light chain gene as an immunopotential agent against Wuchereria bancrofti E H Karunanayake
KH Tennekoon
AN Pathmapaeruma
(Probationary Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo)
MPhil,  Faculty of Medicine, Colombo
Completed in 2006
A study on insulin-like growth-I, insulin-like growth factor binding protein 1 and major placental hormones during normal pregnancy KH Tennekoon
E H Karunanayake
M Wickramanayake MPhil,  Faculty of Medicine, Colombo
Completed in 2006
Use of antigens of Setaria digitata adults for the development of a DOT-ELISA technique for the diagnosis of bancroftian filariasis E H Karunanayake
S Ekanayake

CRI: Coconut Research Institute; ITI: Industrial Technology Institute; RRI: Rubber Research Institute; TRI: Tea Research Institute; OU: Open University; SLU: Swedish Agricultural University; UCSC: University of Colombo, School of Computing; UoC: University of Colombo, UoK: University of Kelaniya; UoP: University of Peradeniya; UoSJP: University of Sri Jayawardenapura; UU: University of Uppsala

Those who are registered at other HEIs have conducted part or all of the project work at IBMBB

IBMBB staff [Professors (including Emeritus Professor and Visiting Professors), Senior Lecturers are given in bold]